Students elected to committees

by Kathryn Bennett / Beacon Staff • September 26, 2013

Four members of the Student Government Association were elected to sit on academic and administrative committees during a meeting on Tuesday, Sept. 24. The group was also given a presentation by professor Tom Cooper on a new school spirit initiative he is spearheading.

Nicholas de la Canal, Danielle Behrendt, Hannah Perrin, and Hilary Fan will each sit on an official school committee as representatives of the student body. De la Canal, the class of 2015 president, won a seat on the Board of Trustees. Behrendt, the writing, literature, and publishing senator, will serve on the Academic Policy Committee, and Perrin, class of 2016 senator, will serve on the Academic Calendar Committee. Fan, the vice treasurer, will participate in the Budget and Planning Priorities Advisory Committee. 

These student representative positions are held by SGA members every year. Those wishing to hold the positions apply, and then are voted on by the rest of the SGA members. The voting was done in a closed session. 

Another commissioner position was also appointed at the meeting. Nicholas D’Errico, a junior writing, literature, and publishing major, will serve as the transfer commissioner. 

Through this position, D’Errico, who transferred into Emerson as a sophomore last year, said he hopes to make the transition process easier for students who do not start  at Emerson as freshmen. He said he hopes to make improvements to the transfer student orientation series and introduce more networking events, so incoming students can get to know more of their peers and organizations within the Emerson community.

Cooper, a visual and media arts professor, gave a presentation at the meeting about an initiative he is working on called the Spirit of Emerson, which aims to boost Emerson pride. 

There will be a new Spirit of Emerson Award that will be awarded each year to two individuals or groups who have exemplified the spirit of the college during the past academic year. One award will be given to a student or group of students, and the other winner will be from the alumni, trustee, faculty, or administrative community, according to Cooper.

Cooper said he and Andrew Tiedemann, Emerson’s vice president of public affairs, have approached various organizations on campus about getting involved in the initiative, including finding new ways to boost school spirit and presenting their own spirit awards. 

According to Tiedemann, several organizations have agreed to participate, including the a capella group Noteworthy and the Emerson Lions Spirit Squad, who cheer at Emerson varsity games and at various events throughout the city. 

So far, SGA has not committed to participating in the initiative. It will be discussed in next week’s meeting.