Incident Journal

The Incident Journal is provided to the Beacon weekly by the Emerson College Police Department. Beacon staff edit the Incident Journal for style and clarity, but not for content.

Sunday, May 20

Emerson College Police Department found a vandalized window on the State Transportation Building inside Boylston Place Alley. ECPD notified the STB security about the vandalism.

Tuesday, June 12

ECPD investigated a door in the Fitness Center that looked as though someone tried to pry it open.

Friday, June 15

Someone reported  an unknown person(s) broke into the Rotch Field fieldhouse and slept in it. ECPD does not know  whether they stole anything.

Saturday, June 16

Someone stole welding wire from the Little Building construction site. ECPD is investigating the incident.

Wednesday, June 20

An ECPD officer found several knocked over garbage cans in the Boylston Place Alley. ECPD reviewed the video cameras and found a suspect fleeing the State Transportation Building knocked the garbage cans over in an attempt to escape the security guards. The garbage cans were restored to their normal state.

Wednesday, July 4

ECPD investigated a case of harassment involving summer conference attendees.

Saturday, July 7

ECPD and Boston Fire Department responded to a fire alarm in the Colonial Theatre. There was no fire, and an unknown source triggered the alarm.

Monday, July 9

EPCD helped BPD with crowd control after a report of a suspicious death. BPD investigated the death.

Thursday, July 12

A staff member reported themselves as possible victim of fraud.

Saturday, July 14

Kitchen workers found an intoxicated person with no Emerson affiliation wandering inside the kitchen in the basement of the Dining Center. ECPD helped the individual find safety.

Monday, July 16

A contractor left a hose running inside the Little Building, causing water to flow from the building.

Wednesday, July 18

A student reported to ECPD that someone stole their wallet inside Griddler’s Burgers & Dogs.

Thursday, July 19

ECPD investigated a report of someone who vandalized the outside of the 12 Hemenway Residence Hall with graffiti.

Friday, July 20

Two individuals with no Emerson affiliation were involved in an altercation near the Print/Copy Center. ECPD separated the individuals and made no arrests.

Sunday, July 22

ECPD investigated several suspicious non-threatening notes left throughout campus.

Tuesday, July 31

ECPD investigated suspicious social media posts from a person affiliated with Emerson.

Thursday, August 2

ECPD and Facilities Management freed four students trapped inside a Paramount Center elevator.

FM removed graffiti found on Ansin Building.

Wednesday, August 15

ECPD and BFD responded to a Little Building fire alarm caused by an exhaust pipe wrapped in a blanket. ECPD reported no injuries. 

Thursday, August 16

ECPD removed several people from Rotch Field for smoking and drinking.

Friday, August 17

A security guard reported a person jumped over the construction fence at Little Building and fled the area when the security guard yelled at them.

Tuesday, August 21

Facilities Management reported several mini-refrigerators stolen from inside Allen’s Alley.

Friday, August 24

A staff member reported items stolen from their office.

Saturday, August 25

Staff at Barnes & Noble at Emerson reported items stolen from the bookstore.

A contractor reported someone stole backpack while working in front of the Colonial residence hall.

ECPD and BPD investigated a report of a disturbance between two parties with no Emerson affiliation near the Colonial residence hall.

Monday, August 27

ECPD and the BFD responded to a fire alarm in the Colonial Theatre. An unknown source caused the alarm. ECPD reported no injuries.

Friday, August 31

Someone reported two people were inside Walker Building. ECPD found the individuals and escorted them out of the building.

Sunday, September 2

Two parents reported someone hit their cars, causing minor damage while moving their students into 12 Hemenway residence hall. The involved party came forward, and they exchanged the necessary paperwork.

Tuesday, September 4

ECPD escorted a community member to campus after an unknown person approached them and asked for money.

Wednesday, September 5

A Lyft driver and an Emerson affiliated person disputed. ECPD and BPD advised the community member to contact Lyft’s main office.

Thursday, September 6

A student reported someone assaulted them while they walked. The student acquired no injuries.

Friday, September 7

A student reported that someone broke in and stole from their off campus residency. BPD is investigating the crime.

ECPD, The Office of Housing and Residence Life, and The Office of Community Standards and Student Conduct confiscated marijuana from a suite.

ECPD assisted BPD with an investigation concerning suspicious activity from a person with no Emerson affiliation at Piano Row residence hall.

ECPD and BFD responded to a fire alarm in the Dining Center. Burnt pizza caused the alarm. There were no fires or injuries.

Saturday, September 8

ECPD found marijuana and drug paraphernalia inside a lost-and-found bag. They confiscated the items and placed them into evidence for disposal. The owner of the bag is unknown.

Show More

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.